Walking the Amazon Pdf

Walking the Amazon

Number of page: 319
Author: Ed Stafford
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group, 2012
ISBN: 9781101603475
Category: Sports & Recreation

As seen on Discovery Channel and for readers of Cheryl Strayed’s Wild, Bill Bryson, Jon Krakauer, and David Grann, a riveting, adventurous account of one man’s history-making journey along the entire length of the Amazon—and through the most bio-diverse habitat on Earth.  Fans of Turn Right at Machu Piccu will revel in Ed Stafford’s extraordinary prose and lush descriptions. In April 2008, Ed Stafford set off to become the first man ever to walk the entire length of the Amazon. He started on the Pacific coast of Peru, crossed the Andes Mountain range to find the official source of the river. His journey lead on through parts of Colombia and right across Brazil; all while outwitting dangerous animals, machete wielding indigenous people as well as negotiating injuries, weather and his own fears and doubts. Yet, Stafford was undeterred. On his grueling 860-day, 4,000-plus mile journey, Stafford witnessed the devastation of deforestation firsthand, the pressure on tribes due to loss of habitats as well as nature in its true-raw form. Jaw-dropping from start to finish, Walking the Amazon is the unforgettable and gripping story of an unprecedented adventure.Walking the Amazon  is also available in a Spanish edition entitled Caminado El Amazonas. 

About The Author

Ed Stafford is the current European Adventurer of the Year; he was also finalist for the National Geographic Adventurer of the Year in 2010, and he is a Guinness World Record holder for his feat (feet?!). Ed Started running worldwide expeditions after retiring from the British army as a captain in 2002. When not leading trips, he worked alongside the United Nations in Afghanistan assisting with the running of their first-ever presidential elections. Prior to this journey, Ed was in production with the BBC on its conversation series Lost Land of the Jaguar. In August 2010, he became the first man to walk the length of the Amazon River, accompanied by forestry worker Gadiel “Cho” Sanchez Rivera, for all but four months of the twenty-eight-month journey. Ed is planning future projects and he travels the world speaking about his adventures. To follow Ed, visit his website: edstafford.org.

  • A Google UserA Google User
    WALKING THE AMAZON: 860 Days. One Step at a Time. A memoir of an astonishing trip walking “nine million-odd steps” for more than two years along the Amazon River’s course from Peruvian headwaters to Brazilian mouth.In this book about becoming the first person to perambulate the Amazon’s entire length, Stafford chronicles the countless obstacles he faced, including canoes of armed indigenous peoples, dehydration, sickness, lack of sleep (his
  • Karma ManKarma Man
    Karma Awesome book.
  • magistrabmagistrab
    LibraryThing Review I thought that Ed Stafford’s achievement was amazing. The mental challenges of completely this task were incredible. This is an excellent book for those who involve travel writing. What I did not like
  • Daniel.EstesDaniel.Estes
    LibraryThing Review Um what? My expectations for Walking the Amazon were out of sync with how Stafford presents it. What I thought was going to be a transformative and deeply personal journey for the author instead
  • ShirezuShirezu
    LibraryThing Review The first thing – Ed Stafford is crazy. I want to travel around South America but no way would I do this. Everyone said he’d never make it and he is probably lucky to have survived – floods
  • poetreegirlpoetreegirl
    LibraryThing Review Mr. Stafford gives an honest account of his trials while trying to reach his goal and set a record. He encounters a variety of guides, broken equipment, terrible weather, and suspicious indigenous
  • CarsonW3CarsonW3
    LibraryThing Review The book Walking the Amazon by Ed Stafford is a non-fiction book about the author walking the Amazon and changing how sees the world he had never seen before. Ed Stafford finds things he would have
  • untravelleruntraveller
    LibraryThing Review Not exactly a page turner. Also, I don’t think I’d like to do any long difficult treks w/ this guy as he appears hard to get along with. Finally, he is just another fellow who wants his bit of fame
  • Canadian_Down_UnderCanadian_Down_Under
    LibraryThing Review Ed Stafford became the first person to walk the length of the Amazon river. His book, “Walking the Amazon”, details his journey and the problems he faced – from the jungle, native animals and bugs
Similar books: