Master of Thin Air Pdf

Master of Thin Air

Number of page: 364
Author: Andrew Lock
Publisher: Open Road Media
ISBN: 9781628726169
Rating:
Category: Sports & Recreation

Named one of the “Five Adventure Books You Need to Read This Summer” by Backpacker MagazineFor readers of Into Thin Air, riveting high-altitude drama and the passion and drive that inspire outsized mountaineering achievements.Master of Thin Air opens with a fall that the author very nearly could not stop down an almost vertical rock ramp leading to a three-thousand-foot drop. The qualities that saved him then on K2—in addition to his mountaineering know-how and sheer good luck—drove his sixteen-year journey to summit all of the world’s eight-thousanders, the fourteen peaks that exceed 8,000 meters (26,000-plus feet) and take climbers into the death zone. Incredibly, he accomplished that feat without the aid of bottled oxygen for every mountain but one. By preference, he climbed solo or in small teams, without Sherpas. During twenty-three expeditions, he spent a total of three years clinging to the sides of dangerous mountains. He lost more than twenty climbing friends and, in April 2014, witnessed Everest’s deadliest avalanche.His book is a riveting, often thrilling account of what it takes to challenge the Earth’s highest peaks and survive. It tells of death-defying ascents and even riskier descents, the gut-dropping consequences of the smallest mistakes or even just bad luck, the camaraderie and human drama of expeditions, the exhilaration of altitude. It is also the inspiring story of what motivates a person to achieve an extraordinary dream, a story of passion, resourcefulness, self-motivation, and hope—even in the most dire moments.Skyhorse Publishing, as well as our Sports Publishing imprint, is proud to publish a broad range of books for readers interested in sports—books about baseball, pro football, college football, pro and college basketball, hockey, or soccer, we have a book about your sport or your team.In addition to books on popular team sports, we also publish books for a wide variety of athletes and sports enthusiasts, including books on running, cycling, horseback riding, swimming, tennis, martial arts, golf, camping, hiking, aviation, boating, and so much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to publishing books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked by other publishers and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.

Preview pages:
  • preview 1
  • preview 2
  • preview 3
  • preview 4

About The Author

Andrew Lock was the eighteenth person ever to scale all fourteen eight-thousanders, though he comes from the flattest country on earth. Awarded the Order of Australia for Services to Mountaineering, he has guided multiple teams to the summit of Mt. Everest and other of the highest peaks. A professional keynote and motivational speaker on leadership, motivation, teamwork, goal setting, and risk management, he lives in Campbell Act, Australia.

Similar books:
  • Tilting at Mountains: Love, Tragedy, and Triumph on the World's Highest Peaks

    Tilting at Mountains: Love, Tragedy, and Triumph on the World’s Highest Peaks
    The author reveals the demons that drove her to extreme physical accomplishments at the cost of great suffering story of adventure and personal growth Pasaban is one of the best high altitude climbers in the world today br On May 17 2010 a 37 year old Spaniard named Edurne Pasaban became the first woman to climb all fourteen peaks higher than 8 000 meters This record breaking accomplishment put the Basque woman on National Geographic s 2010 Adventurers of the Year list The next year both The Alpinist and Outside magazines placed her on their Adventurers of the Year lists too Pasaban s accomplishment did not come without controversy Another woman Korean climber Oh Eun Sun claimed to have completed the peaks a few weeks earlier Later inquiries revealed that Oh Eun Sun had failed to summit Kangchenjunga in 2009 and her claim was eventually withdrawn leaving Edurne as the clear victor But how did she get there Published for the first time in English Tilting at Mountains tells Edurne s heartfelt and deeply personal story She details not only how she came to climb the 8 000 meter peaks the competitive nature of her Basque heritage played a role as did admittedly an interest in handsome climbing guides but also how her love for the mountains pulled her from a deep soul crushing depression The book covers her climbs on all the 8 000 meter peaks some of which were almost cakewalks while others were climbed at great cost including the loss of close friends

  • No Shortcuts to the Top: Climbing the World's 14 Highest Peaks

    No Shortcuts to the Top: Climbing the World’s 14 Highest Peaks
    This gripping and triumphant memoir from the author of The Mountain follows a living legend of extreme mountaineering as he makes his assault on history one 8 000 meter summit at a time For eighteen years Ed Viesturs pursued climbing s holy grail to stand atop the world s fourteen 8 000 meter peaks without the aid of bottled oxygen But No Shortcuts to the Top is as much about the man who would become the first American to achieve that goal as it is about his stunning quest As Viesturs recounts the stories of his most harrowing climbs he reveals a man torn between the flat safe world he and his loved ones share and the majestic and deadly places where only he can go A preternaturally cautious climber who once turned back 300 feet from the top of Everest but who would not shrink from a peak Annapurna known to claim the life of one climber for every two who reached its summit Viesturs lives by an unyielding motto Reaching the summit is optional Getting down is mandatory It is with this philosophy that he vividly describes fatal errors in judgment made by his fellow climbers as well as a few of his own close calls and gallant rescues And for the first time he details his own pivotal and heroic role in the 1996 Everest disaster made famous in Jon Krakauer s Into Thin Air In addition to the raw excitement of Viesturs s odyssey No Shortcuts to the Top is leavened with many funny moments revealing the camaraderie between climbers It is more than the first full account of one of the staggering accomplishments of our time it is a portrait of a brave and devoted family man and his beliefs that shaped this most perilous and magnificent pursuit

  • The Mountain: My Time on Everest

    The Mountain: My Time on Everest
    In national bestseller The Mountain world renowned climber and bestselling author Ed Viesturs and cowriter David Roberts paint a vivid portrait of obsession dedication and human achievement in a true love letter to the world s highest peak In The Mountain veteran world class climber and bestselling author Ed Viesturs the only American to have climbed all fourteen of the world s 8 000 meter peaks trains his sights on Mount Everest in richly detailed accounts of expeditions that are by turns personal harrowing deadly and inspiring The highest mountain on earth Everest remains the ultimate goal for serious high altitude climbers Viesturs has gone on eleven expeditions to Everest spending more than two years of his life on the mountain and reaching the summit seven times No climber today is better poised to survey Everest s various ascents both personal and historic Viesturs sheds light on the fate of Mallory and Irvine whose 1924 disappearance just 800 feet from the summit remains one of mountaineering s greatest mysteries as well as the multiply tragic last days of Rob Hall and Scott Fischer in 1996 the stuff of which Into Thin Air was made Informed by the experience of one who has truly been there The Mountain affords a rare glimpse into that place on earth where Heraclitus s maxim Character is destiny is proved time and again

  • The Other Side of Everest: Climbing the North Face Through the Killer Storm

    The Other Side of Everest: Climbing the North Face Through the Killer Storm
    May 1996 began like most other climbing seasons on Mount Everest The arrival of spring brought the usual pre monsoon period with teams of hopeful mountaineers ready to reach for the roof of the world Among the dozens of climbers were Jon Krakauer and Anatoli Boukreev who would both later write their own accounts of what followed and Matt Dickinson But on May 10 with ten different expeditions strung out along the mountain the usual turned deadly Suddenly the temperature dropped from merely frigid to 40 degrees below zero A killer storm with howling winds swept in and climbers were soon blinded in white out conditions Before it was over the blizzard would claim a dozen lives the worst loss of life in the modern history of climbing on Everest Dickinson an adventure filmmaker was part of an expedition challenging the treacherous North Face of Everest on the Tibetan side Of the nearly 700 people who have scaled Everest since the first ascent in 1953 barely 230 have managed to ascend via the colder and technically more difficult route up the North Face In addition to climbing through the storm which would test him beyond his imagining Dickinson also filmed the ascent He and his team watched in awe as violent clouds gathered over the mountain and swept them all up in a frightening white force Dickinson was a relative novice who had never climbed at this crushing altitude and the storm preyed on his mind throwing into question his entire mission Despite this uncertainty and the treacherous conditions Dickinson and his partner Alan Hinkes continued their climb compelled to reach the summit Dickinson s first person narrative the only account of the killer storm written by a climber who was on the North Face places the reader amid the swirl of the catastrophe while providing rare insight into the very essence of mountaineering The Other Side of Everest is a portrait of personal triumph set against the most disastrous storm to ever befall the world mountaineering community Anyone who has ever pushed beyond familiar limits of physical and psychological endurance will cherish this book From the Hardcover edition